2012 Underwood Stakes Nominations

September 17th, 2012

Nominations have been released for the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) which will take place at Caulfield Racecourse this Saturday September 22.

Twenty-three horses have been nominated for the race with the field limited to sixteen runners and four emergencies.

Included in the Underwood Stakes nominations is Kiwi galloper Ocean Park who will run in Australia for the first time since finishing second in the Rosehill Guineas (2000m) in March.

The four-year-old won the Group 1 Makfi Challenge Stakes (1400m) at Hastings earlier this month and is being set for the 2012 Cox Plate.

Southern Speed and Manighar are set to renew their rivalry with both being nominated for the 2012 Underwood Stakes.

Southern Speed beat Manighar by a nose in the Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) to avenge her loss by the same margin to the Peter Moody-trained gelding in the 2012 Australian Cup (2000m).

Memsie Stakes (1600m) winner Sincero has also been nominated for the 2012 Underwood Stakes.

He will be ridden by Michael Walker as regular jockey Michael Rodd is committed to riding Mark Kavanagh-trained December Draw.

International galloper Sanagas will make his debut for Cups King Bart Cummings.

The Australian-owned stayer won the Group 1 Hollywood Turf Cup in the United States at his last start and has been brought to Australia for a crack at the 2012 Melbourne Cup.

Also included in the 2012 Underwood Stakes nominations are Illo, Maluckyday, Mawingo, Moudre, Niwot and Voila Ici.

Sign-up at bookmaker.com.au to secure a bonus bet worth $400!

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join and you can receive a bonus worth 100% of your initial stakes when you deposit between $25 and $400 into your new account.

Start betting with bookmaker.com.au today!

Underwood Stakes 2012 Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AVIENUS Mark Webb 101
2 DECEMBER DRAW (IRE) Mark Kavanagh 112
3 DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Michael Moroney 108
4 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes 100
5 ILLO (GER) Bart Cummings 103
6 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
7 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody 116
8 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman 109
9 MIDAS TOUCH (GB) Robert Hickmott 109
10 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 104
11 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 108
12 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
13 OCEAN PARK (NZ) Gary Hennessy 106
14 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings 108
15 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson 93
16 SEVILLE (GER) Robert Hickmott 106
17 SHENZHOU STEEDS (NZ) Michael Moroney 102
18 SILENT SURROUND William Smart 93
19 SINCERO Stephen Farley 114
20 SOUTHERN SPEED Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 115
21 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody 110
22 WINCHESTER (USA) John Sadler 111
23 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens 101